Brilliant Day

Even though started my period on Friday morning, so I’m not feeling all that awesome, I still managed to drag my ass out for a day with my bestie, today. We went to the Flying Fish for Oyster Frenzy, then hung out at Starbucks for a couple of hours, talking and catching up.

K is the best kind of friend, the perfect kind of friend for me. We go for stretches where we see each other every other week, talk weekly, and then suddenly drop off the face of the planet for a year. Life, it happens, and we both get it, so when we go for a year with only the occasional email, it’s totally fine. Seeing her again, for the first time since last year, it was like no time at all had passed. I love her just as much, and am so excited for her, and happy for all the good things, and sad about all the bad… she’s just my best friend, and today was lovely. She’s beautiful and smart and funny, and I’m so glad she dragged her ass out, despite a gnarly sinus infection, to eat obscene amounts of oysters with me.

In other news, my state has a marriage equality bill up in this election. It’s probably going to pass, because that’s how we roll out here in pinko commie hippie land, but I’ve been repeatedly surprised, and more than a little shocked, at the number of straight friends, coworkers, and acquaintances who have volunteered to me that they are not getting married until I can get married. That’s… really very nice.

I wouldn’t ever ask, because that seems rude and wrong, but when someone hugs me and validates my relationship by making such a statement, by “walking the talk…” it means something. It touches me. I feel deeply moved by such statements, and I appreciate the alliance. So, for those of you out there who are putting off your own, hetero weddings because you feel that strongly about marriage equality, Isay Thank You. Also, please vote.

I tried to take a picture of a sparrow for this post, because it’s fall and there are adorable sparrows everywhere, but they seem to flee before my phone. So take it as a given that I saw several sparrows today, perched on various surfaces, being round and adorable. I love me some urban wildlife.

Leave a Reply

