Bento

It’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve really put any effort into bento. I’ve been either skipping lunch, or buying food at the caf. Not cool, especially the skipping meals part. I don’t need to eat a ton, but part of being functionally bipolar is maintaining stable chemistry. Thus, food.

I’ve made black rice, which is a variety of rice that is actually black, not a recipe. I’ll season it sushi-style, and pack bento with that, Japanese-style pickled cabbage, carrot sticks, soy-simmered tofu, and mushrooms. I’ll mix it up with apple slices and chili or soy eggs, for a mid-morning snack, or breakfast bento. Doing the math, this is a week of food, for about $5 total. The tofu is the most expensive part, since it cost $2.50 for the block.

I spent the weekend eating variations on black beans, which is all very nice, but for some reason it got me thinking about Japanese food and bento, so I guess I’m back on the wagon. Oh, and I just remembered the radishes! I should add those. Mmmm, radishes.

I hated radishes when I was a kid. Probably well into my adulthood, as well, if I’m honest. Then we started getting a farm-share box, and locally grown French breakfast radishes. I read up on what to do with them, which is not much, other than eating with a smear of sweet butter. But I love butter. Like, really, a lot.

The combo hooked me, and I have gradually expanded my radish horizons, until I’m happy to enjoy raw radishes of any type, at any time. I’ve also learned more radish recipes. Turns out they are also delightful braised, broiled, roasted, and pickled. I don’t recommend trying to mash them. It’s possible, but they aren’t very good.

In other news, I’ve done a ton of crochet, this weekend; read several books–Jamie Mason’s murdery novel Three Graves Full was great fun; am watching the entirety of the Marvel Cinematic Universe; and I got in a delicious nap, this afternoon. All hail, bad weather! Well, we did get a couple of brief sun-breaks, but I chose not to take advantage.

Speaking of Marvel, omg, how far away is fall? I can’t wait to see what Joss Whedon does with S.H.I.E.L.D. Whee! The only two shows that I am interested in this year are Sherlock and S.H.I.E.L.D. I don’t even care what that says about me.

One thought on “Bento

Leave a Reply

