Cookies

I miss cookies. Almost all cookies are made with wheat flour; coconut macaroons might count as an exception, if one includes the macaroon within the genus of cookie. I waver on the issue.

Cookies should be flat and round, in my opinion. They can be crisp, or cake-like, or chewy, but they must be flat and they must be round. And sweet, although levels of sweetness are as varied as textures.

There are many gluten-free cookie recipes. Most require guar gum, specialty flour mixes, or don’t resemble cookies in any respect. (I’m looking at you, paleo-people.) There are also flour-less cookies, made from eggs, powdered sugar, and cocoa, but they tend to be a bit gummy for me.

I like shortbread. I like crisp, dry, and sweet. I am also very fond of nuts.

My New Favorite Cookie

2 c sesame meal
2 c almond butter
1.75 c sugar (white sugar makes for crisp cookies. Brown sugar cookies will be slightly softer.)
2 – 3 eggs, depending on the size of your eggs
dash salt

Preheat oven to 275F (my oven actually cooks a little hot, so 300F is probably more accurate.) Line a heavy cookie sheet with baking parchment.

Gently cream together all ingredients. Scoop out a teaspoon or so of dough, enough to roll into a walnut-sized (1″ diameter) sphere. Slightly flatten each into a disc and evenly space on cookie sheet, leaving about an inch between each cookie. (They will spread a little, as they bake.)

Bake for 20 minutes, then turn off heat and open the door, to let cookies “set” in the oven.

I might try a variation with minced dates, and less sugar, in the batter. That would probably produce a chewier cookie. The plain was very good with tea.

Leave a Reply

