Yum

Went a little crazy with the cheez whiz after therapy today. While no actual cheez whiz was harmed, I did the Downtown Happy Hour Menu bop: a dozen oysters on the half shell w/ champagne mignonette; halibut tacos w/ pickled cabbage, chilies, and lime; Thai red-curry eggplant w/ rice noodles.

I love living in a city. I love that I can nosh my way down six blocks, look over the water, and remember Flannery O’Connor. Ms O’Connor understood the importance of place; of character over plot. She knew that a story is really just what some folks will up and do. I never know how my stories will turn out; the characters do what they will do. It’s as inevitable as the rain. If you know your characters, they will tell their story.

I lent some stories to a country lady who lives down the road from me, and when she returned them, she said, “Well, them stories just gone and shown you how some folks would do,” and I thought to myself that that was right; when you write stories, you have to be content to start exactly there—showing how some specific folks will do, will do in spite of everything.”

–Flannery O’Connor, “Writing Short Stories,” in Mystery and Manners

Leave a Reply

