Recipe: Roasted Chile Bake

Whole Foods had roasted Poblano chiles on special last week, so I bought two boxes, one hot, one medium. I was unable to find a recipe that excited me, so I made one up. It was so deliciously tasty that I’ve repeated it, using the medium-heat chiles.

Because I am forgetful, I am writing out the basics.

Requirements:
9″x6″x3″ baking pan
oven
rice steamer, or lidded saucepan/skillet large enough for rice and stove
1 cup long grain brown rice
2 cups water
1 can Ro-tel diced tomatoes & chilies
1/2 diced sweet onions (or to taste)
12-16 roasted Poblano (or other large, green) chilies
2 cups shredded, (medium) cheddar cheese
2 cups enchilada sauce

Preheat oven to 350F.

Steam rice w/ water, Ro-tel, onion.

Clean chilies, removing seeds, veins, and stems.

Stir cooked rice, gently, and layer in baking pan. Keep it loose. Layer half the chilies over the rice. Sprinkle half the shredded cheese over chilies. Layer the remaining chilies over the cheese. Sprinkle half the remaining cheese (1/4) over chilies. Pour enchilada sauce (I like Hatch brand, medium, green or red; or I make my own) over everything. Bake at 350F for 20 minutes. Remove from oven. Sprinkle remaining cheese over casserole. Return to oven and turn off heat. Ready to eat in 10 minutes, or whenever your Other gets home.

Delicious as leftovers. Goes well with a green salad with creamy dressing, and/or slow-cooked pinto beans, and/or warm corn tortillas. Would probably also go well with a tomato with bleu cheese dressing salad, but Lily ate the tomato, so I didn’t get to try that, yet.

I have no idea what the calorie or nutritional content of anything I make is, nor do I particularly care. I care that my food avoids my allergies, yet is delicious. Oh, and cheap is also quite important. This recipe make six servings as a full meal, and eight to 12 with sides.

(My friend, Deuce, would yell at me for going from spelling out numbers to using numerals, in the same text group, but when I was a wee lass, they taught that you spelled out one through ten, and used numerals for 11 and up. In writing, not algebra, obviously. Anyway, so, that’s what I do.)

Leave a Reply

